Skip To Main Content

NSPA Best of Show

-The 2023 Purgold Yearbook, 7th Place

JEA/NSPA National Student Media Contest awards

Kiara Sanchez - Honorable Mention, Yearbook Copy and Caption Writing, Clubs

Sara Hanon - Excellent, Yearbook Copy and Caption Writing, Academics

Missouri State J-Day Awards

  • Honorable Mention- Purgold Yearbook
  • Honorable Mention- NTV NEWS (Announcements with Video)
  • Honorable Mention- Yearbook Traditional package--Sports Volleyball-Purgold staff: Charlene Ly, Robbie Fillingham, Maya Andres, Sara Hanon
  • Honorable Mention-  Photography/Graphics - Student Life/Organization Photo Big Finish- Sara Hanon
  • Honorable Mention- Yearbook Mods-Gameday Fits-Sara Hanon


  • Excellent-Yearbook Mods-Q&A with Regulus-Robbie Fillingham
  • Excellent-Yearbook Overall theme/concept- Our Town-Purgold Staff
  • Excellent-Photography/Graphics- Student Life/Organization Photo- Fan Dance-Sara Hanon
  • Excellent- Broadcasting News Feature- Meet NKC Principal Dr. Keith Jones-SaDerra Gill and Jaden Frederique


  • Superior-Broadcasting Commercial/PSA- FAME Trailer-Canaan Novero and Felix Reeder
  • Superior-Photography/Graphics-News Photo- Feel the Rhythm-Sara Hanon
  • Superior-Photography/Graphics-Sports--Action Schools K-Z- Lean Into It-Aixa Ramirez
  • Superior-Photography/Graphics-Sports--Action Schools K-Z-Got Your Back-Amira Ahmed
  • Superior-Photography/Graphics-Student Life/Organization Photo-There She Goes-Aixa Ramirez
  • Superior-Yearbook-Non-Traditional Package- December Coverage-Purgold Staff: Angel Banuelos Rodriguez, Nhi Truong, Madison Rounds


  • All Missouri- Yearbook-Specialty Design- People Divider: Heart of Our Town-Sara Hanon and Kiara Sanchez
  • All Missouri- Broadcasting-Human Interest Feature-NKC Feature: Kenai the Facility Dog-Adelaide Collins and Marty Ruffin


  • Best of Show- Photography/Graphics-News Photo- Kurdish Pride-Ayva Dowland


  • All state journalism team-Sara Hanon

MIJA is proud to announce and congratulate its All-State Journalism Team for 2024. The team consists of 10 students from six different schools across the state. Congratulations to all the recipients and their advisers. Representing Northtown is senior Sara Hanon. 

Hanon is co-EIC of the Purgold yearbook. Her love for journalism started freshman year when she joined a Journalism I class. Since then, she has served on the Purgold Yearbook staff as a staff member for one year and co-editor for two years, as well as managing yearbook’s social media and participating in the NKC Quill and Scroll honor chapter. Outside of journalism, Hanon is active in several school activities. She participates in the Muslim Student Association (MSA), the Women’s Empowerment Club and the Young Progressives Club. She was elected president of MSA this school year and is known at Northtown as a student leader who represents diversity and inclusion.

JEMKC Regional Awards

First Place Broadcast Show Opening: NTV NEWS Staff

1st place show opener

Third Place Broadcast Announcements: NTV NEWS Staff 

3rd announcements

Third Place Broadcast Announcements/Video: NTV News Staff 

third place broadcast announcements/video

Honorable Mention: Broadcast Feature Story Adelaide Collins “Craft Fair”

adelaide collins honorable mention

JEMKC Sweepstakes – Yearbook Sweepstakes, Second Place Overall, NKC Purgold Yearbook Staff

First Place: Yearbook Best Overall Modular Design, Angel Banuelos, Nhi Truong, Madison Rounds, Kiara Sanchez

 First Place: Yearbook Environmental Portrait, Sara Hanon


First Place: Yearbook Feature Photo Sara Hanon 

26 new Quill and Scroll honor society member inductees:



  • Amira Ahmed
  • Hailey Black
  • Chiara Burlando Bonfatti
  • Faith Williams
  • Caleb Goncalves
  • SaDerra Gill
  • Johnna McQuillen
  • Rodrigo Saravia Perez
  • Alana Sharp
  • Nhi Truong
  • Samantha Baehr
  • Olyvia Bello
  • Sylvia Cates
  • Scarlett Goeking
  • Lillian Greve
  • Julie Harstad
  • Sol Smith-Guillen
  • William Kweh
  • Angel Banuelos Rodriguez
  • Brennan Crawley
  • Adelaide Collins
  • Deng Deng
  • Robert Fillingham
  • Julian Novero
  • Madison Rounds
  • Tessa Waggoner



  • Izharullah Fazal
  • Andrea Hernandez
  • Dayanara Soto
  • Sophia McAtee
  • Owen Baxter
  • Jocelyn Brito-Velazquez
  • Devin Rammelsburg
  • Jaden Frederique
  • Audrey Harris
  • Zecir Radoncic 
  • Joseph Koch



  • Kiara Sanchez
  • Sara Hanon
  • Madison Doyle
  • Bousso Drame 
  • Asia Cortez
  • Lily Patterson
  • Zoe Payne

NSPA presents Leadership Award in Student Journalism

1,400 high school journalists honored for serving with distinction for at least two years on student media staffs

MINNEAPOLIS — The National Scholastic Press Association, the nation’s largest association serving scholastic media, has named approximately 1,400 high school journalists as recipients of the new Leadership Award in Scholastic Journalism.

Locally, the following students from the North Kansas City School District were honored: 

North Kansas City High School, North Kansas City

Abdifatah Ahmed

Jocelyn Brito-Velazquez

Jaden Frederique

SaDerra Gill

Sara Hanon

Andrea Hernandez

Charlene Ly

Aaliyah Marshall

Canaan Novero

Aixa Ramirez

Kiara Sanchez

Dayanara Soto


“NSPA is pleased to honor such a distinguished group of student journalists,” associate director Gary Lundgren said. “The leadership demonstrated by these students during their two years working on high school media will serve them well for careers in journalism or any future endeavors.”

To earn the NSPA Leadership Award in Student Journalism, a high school student must serve with distinction for at least two years on the staff of an NSPA-member high school broadcast, literary arts magazine, newspaper/newsmagazine, specialty magazine, website or yearbook by the end of the current school year.

Students are nominated by their advisers. A specific grade-point average is not required; however, students must be in good academic standing and demonstrate journalistic excellence and staff leadership while maintaining the high ethical standards outlined in the NSPA Model Code of Ethics.

Recipients receive a certificate of recognition and are eligible to wear the NSPA Leadership in Student Journalism teal honor cord at graduation, as well as being listed on the NSPA website and on the pages of the Best of the High School Press.

Through education, training and recognition programs, NSPA promotes the standards and ethics of good journalism. Its educational programs, both on-site and virtual, train thousands of student journalists and advisers, and its awards programs include the Pacemaker Award, the nation’s preeminent publication honor. NSPA celebrated 100 years of service in 2021.

For more information, please contact the journalism advisers at the high schools:

  • North Kansas City: